Mahendra Bhawan

Panna famous by the name of  ‘The City of Diamonds’ is situated between the picturesque mountain ranges of Vindhyanchal, north-east part of Madhya Pradesh. The current form of Panna district is in combination with Panna and Ajaygarh State, Charkhari, Bijawar, Chhatarpur and United Provinces.

Originally a Gond settlement up to the 13th century, Panna was made the capital by Raja Chhatrasal Bundela. Prior to April, 1949, this district was part of Vindhya Pradesh, which was merged into Madhya Pradesh on 1st November 1956. On the establishment of Sagar division on October 20, 1972, it has been merged with Rewa division and included in the Sagar division.It forms the northern district of Sagar division.

The name of Panna district is named after the Padmavati Devi Ji temple near Panna District Headquarters. Panna is also known as the town of Maharaja Chhatrasal. Panna is surrounded by Banda district of Uttar Pradesh in the north, Satna district in the east, Katni and Damoh district in the south and Chhatrapur district in the west of the district.

Panna has diamond mines, as well as famous for its ancient and beautiful temples. For this reason it is also called ‘City of Temples’. The temple of Shri Prannath Ji and Shri Baldev ji located here are famous among the pilgrims. Panna also has a National Park where Panna Tiger Reserve and many rare wildlife are found.